Stumpy tree for coppicing

Mr. Ed

Morning all

I have a question that sounds a little stupid, and may indeed be so. Be kind to me - I am a beginner. We have a bit of steep land which was planted with sycamore (yes I know) about 20 years ago and then had a power cable run over it. So every n years (we have only been here a year) the electric company sends down some amiable tree surgeons who knock everything down. What they cut down is so skinny that it doesn’t even seem worth gathering. Can anyone think of a tree for this sort of coppicing that will grow short and thick and therefore need less regular knocking down, and when knocked down would have the potential to provide some firewood, or have a particular environmental value?

Thanks in advance for any ideas. 

2 hours ago, Mr. Ed said:

Can anyone think of a tree for this sort of coppicing that will grow short and thick and therefore need less regular knocking down, and when knocked down would have the potential to provide some firewood, or have a particular environmental value?

The thing about coppicing is that the stool reacts by mobilising lots of adventitious shoots that then compete with each other for light, they grow tall and thin. These long slender shoots would be cut on a regular  cycle because they lent themselves to being split and weaved for baskets, crates, wattle etc. Any left overs would be gathered into bundles to make firewood, faggots and bavins.

So the yield of biomass from the stool is divided between the collection of sprouts. If you were to select one stem by cutting out the rest it would have a head start on further adventitious growth and more of the yield would be concentrated on that stem, this is called storing the coppice stool. it probably shortens the life of the stool for most species.