Newbie help

Hi all,  I've just brought a new house and I'm the lounge it has a 5w aga stretton inset stove.  I've never used a stove before so I'm researching as much as possible. In terms of use,  this will not be the main source of heat,  will just be a novelty on occasion unless we really like itthen we may use more.  I need to gauge how much wood I'm going to need so to start with,  how much wood would one use for 1 fire,  say lighting at 6pm till 10pm maximum.  I see these 10kg bags in wickes for 6.50 or 3 for 15. How many of this type of fire would I get for 10kg? 

It's a bit of a how long is a piece of string question. Anyway, the instructions say typical refuelling is every hour with 31cm long logs. So, you should be able to work out how many logs from a bag you'll get it. I'd guess about 3-4 refuellings a bag, so one bag an evening?

This depends on the draw, when it's windy my fire will burn through more wood. It'll also depend greatly on the quality of the wood in the bags.

Make sure the bags aren't wet and I'd also recommend a Carbon Monoxide (CO) alarm if you don't already have one.

If you like it I'd track down a reliable bulk firewood supplier.

Edited by Paul in the woods
  • Like 3

18 hours ago, Pclarke82 said:

Hi all,  I've just brought a new house and I'm the lounge it has a 5w aga stretton inset stove.  I've never used a stove before so I'm researching as much as possible. In terms of use,  this will not be the main source of heat,  will just be a novelty on occasion unless we really like itthen we may use more.  I need to gauge how much wood I'm going to need so to start with,  how much wood would one use for 1 fire,  say lighting at 6pm till 10pm maximum.  I see these 10kg bags in wickes for 6.50 or 3 for 15. How many of this type of fire would I get for 10kg? 

Forget 10kg bags ( tooo expensive and dubiouse quality ) . Build your self a proper log store ( rain off but plenty of air flow ) and get the local log merchant to deliver .