Help with no stress EC150

Richard Moss

Hi all. I am new to the Arb profession, but getting started and loving it so far. I’ve been forced into it by the Covid impact, but am slowly getting some work and building my business on the side of being a gamekeeper that’s not shooting this season. 

I have got quite a bit of kit now and purchased an older Greenmech EC 150 chipper last month with a knackered Lister Petter engine that I’ve since rebuilt and now sounds sweet. After a bit of love the machine sounds and runs well but the no stress isn’t working. I found a thread on this from a previous user that mentions the tap under the back which is currently switched to bypass the NS, and have tried turning it back which slows the rollers down. My question is on the back underneath the in feed there is a solenoid with 2 wires, the wires are disconnected and one seems to have power down it, does anyone know which terminals on the solenoid they are meant to be connected to as there are 3 terminals and just 2 wires. I don’t want to just reconnect and blow something, but would like to get it working and not blow up my nice new engine. Also can anyone explain the sequence for getting the NS working as I’ve obvs not used it before I’ve just got a red flashing light. Thanks in advance Arbtalk members 

344BEB6E-4407-441A-ACDC-6393F125B374.jpeg

• Like 1

Hi Richard , sorry I've only just noticed this post.

Right , the two wires at the No-stress solenoid go on the two small contacts and it doesn't matter which way they are connected as it's just a coil.

With the ignition on you should have a positive at the one wire as you say you have.

The other wire is the earth and is supplied by the No-stress box but only when you have a green light on the box.....

The red flashing light indicates that no speed is being detected and is the usual for when the ignition is switched on and the override button is pressed ..