Cleaning carb on smoking Stihl

coppicer

I have been using a Stihl MS181 for 6 years now, and for my purposes it's been a good little saw, despite my never really maintained it. I have taken it into the shop for a service once or twice, but it didn't seem to have any effect on operation - was neither better nor worse after the service.

Yesterday, when I started and revved the saw with the bar and chain off, it started to get hot and began to smoke from around the sprocket, so I turned it off immediately and let it cool. I thought it might be a problem with the air-fuel mix, and thought I would take the opportunity to service the carb, as the saw sometimes has problems when revving off idle, as described here. I have already replaced the spark plug and air filter, just in case.

While taking the saw apart, I have already found a couple of issues, including the fact that two out of the three T27 screws that are supposed to hold the carb on simply aren't there. ? As I have never taken the saw apart, I can only assume the shop failed to put it back together properly after the service, which (if true) is disappointing. I also can't see any sign of the O-ring 9646 945 0610 mentioned on p.72 of the service manual in relation to the stop buffers (why would a stop buffer have an O-ring?).

I was planning to replace all the diaphragms and other rubber parts in the carb. I've cleaned bike carbs before, but not chainsaw carbs and I am surprised that the outside of the carb is so filthy with sawdust, etc. How do I clean this? I don't have an ultrasonic cleaner. I have no objection to going at it with a scraper and cotton buds, but I'm worried that I will just shift the crap on the outside of the carb inside the carb. Perhaps the best approach is to take it outside and give it a good blast with carb cleaner?

Any advice or tips on diagnostics/work much appreciated!

Dan

20200718_125303-25%.jpg