Buying a used Arb chainsaw - swimming with the sharks?

little_p

I was wondering what is everyone's general view on buying a used Arb chainsaw? Is it plain daft to even consider it?
Is there any way to check how many hours it has been used for? Whether it has been regularly serviced? Whether it has been previously stolen? Even how old it is?

The background is that I am a part-time farmer, the farm that I work on has a river and two streams running through it, so plenty of timber (mostly alder and ash).
I have a Stihl MS231 which is perfect for hedge laying, dealing with fallen branches, small and light stuff etc. Most years we have at least one tree come down that needs to be dealt with by a bigger saw. We also have a Zenoah G561 AVS which we use for the bigger stuff. It is proving to be very unreliable (had a plug and filter change), so are looking for a 'fresh' Arb chainsaw and doubt that will be able to justify buying a new one.

24 minutes ago, Steve Bullman said:

I’d never buy used but plenty do. If I were to I would make sure it was from a reputable source. Have a chat with @spudulike on here. He regularly does up used saws and sells on. You will know you’re getting something that’s been gone over by an expert with a fine tooth comb 

Exactly what he said    -   ( but join the que - he's porting 3 of my saws 1st - being an MS 200, 346xp and 357xp - all golden age saws) ?

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

As above basically . The only way to tell hours used ( unless you know the history of the saw and its user  ) is if its an auto tune saw which can be plugged in and will give you the hours used , time at idle  time flat out etc etc .

• Thanks 1

I've bought several second hand saws and rebuilt them, I don't think that it is worthwhile in the long run if you are looking at it as a commercial tool or something you are going to use as a business. I do it because it is something to do, bit of a project and something to learn about.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1