Diseased tree

Mother Theresa

First post so please be gentle...

I have just bought a 3 acre wood that hasn’t seen a human in it for about 20 years. It is an ancient deciduous wood bordering a biggish (at the moment anyway) stream. It is mainly beech, dying ash and chestnut to my untrained eye. The attached photos, if I can get them to upload, show a diseased bough. The question is where should I make the cut to remove the dead bit. If you carefully you can see a lengthwise split along the branch horizontally.

Though I am a woodland novice I am not a chainsaw noob so cutting safely shouldn’t be an issue.

he says.

B2704FB8-075B-4FD8-8E2B-2D910A282F9B.jpeg

77ADD89B-8445-472E-91D0-0D0A749F35E5.jpeg

If no-one goes there then there's no risk and no reason to remove the limb. The tree will already have compartmentalised he damage and decay at an appropriate point. Cutting off a branch will only open up decay again. You'll not stop the spread of any disease by removing the limb. I'd say leave it.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

2 minutes ago, daltontrees said:

If no-one goes there then there's no risk and no reason to remove the limb. The tree will already have compartmentalised he damage and decay at an appropriate point. Cutting off a branch will only open up decay again. You'll not stop the spread of any disease by removing the limb. I'd say leave it.

I definitely second that.

4 hours ago, Mother Theresa said:

Can you recommend me something to read?

If you follow this link it takes you to the (updated) chapters of a book Jo Ellis wrote when she was private woodlands officer for surrey

WWW.RFS.ORG.UK

So you own a woodland provides online guidance for new woodland owners including videos and links to other helpful...

On 27/02/2020 at 17:06, Mother Theresa said:

Nope, just a private sale from someone who moved away many years ago and just held onto this patch of woodland - but then needed the cash and as I live next to it offered it to me.