Am I to fat and old?

DaveJL

I have been nosing around here for a while on the forums as I'm looking for a career change, it has helped get rid of a few misconceptions I've had, and has helped me understand what is and will be required of me to start out. However one of the most notable things I have taken away is how fit, nimble and young you guys are, and I can see those of an older age started out young and have progressed through.

I'm a truck driver, I'm 43 and 15 years behind the wheel has paid its toll on my physique, this however I've been working on since August last year, I've lost 15kg through dieting and I am now in the process of starting cardio to further reduce the weight. I am currently at 105kg and 185cm.

I'd like to add that although I say I'm a truck driver, there's more to it than that, I actually own the truck, have an O' license etc etc. So when I say I know what is expected of me I really do, I worked very hard to get to where I am today, and still do work my arse off. The truck is due for replacement August this year and I just can't justify the costs vs rates I get for the hard work and hours I do. So I have decided to make a change, I want a physical job to rebuild my strength and well being that involves the outdoors.

So, to the question in hand, am I to fat and old? I understand life is what we make of it, however having some guidance and advice from the people who know is worth it's weight in gold. So have you seen an old fat bloke stuck in a tree? A guy who can't see what he's cutting because his gut got in the way? seriously though, what are your thoughts, am I barking up the wrong tree, I have the mental capacity to fulfil the task and the want to learn, and I'm sure the the physical side will come, but I don't want to waste time on what could only be a short career because of my weight (fat or muscle)  and size, as the fat will go, but will only be replaced with muscle.

Please don't hold back and be blunt.

• Like 2