What is best for this tree??

DanBous

Hi Guys,

Just wondering what you would do with this poplar...

It's right next to the house, the client doesn't want to remove it, but wants it to be made "safe"

There is a small amount of deadwood to be removed, apart from this would you Pollard the whole thing, or reduce your a third...I've never done a poplar before, and I can't see that a Pollard or a 30 percent reduction would be much different (I appreciate that it depends on how heavy you Pollard it)

Also, if pollarding was an option, would this create lots of regrowth that would be a safety issue due it's weak unions with the old wood??

Your help would be much appreciated

Thanks

DanIMG_20190226_083636.jpegIMG_20190226_084552.jpeg

You cannot make it "safe" only as safe as possible, your client needs to know the difference! 

You can top it by half and in 10 yrs it will be a rotten as, pointless reducing it sympathetically, "Pollarding" is an overused spec as "Pollarding" should only be done correctly on trees up to 10yrs of age in the true sense, "Pollarding " is the modern term for Topping. By topping it your basically doing a staged fell as it will rot quickly and re growth will be weak, Remove to base like Mark said if the only real practical solution. 

bad planting as Mark states

• Like 3

If they really don't want to remove it but make it safe, then despite all the answers above(which are all correct) then pollarding(topping) is the only viable option IMO. They would need to know that it would need redoing at very regular intervals afterwards to keep it 'safe'. Fell is ultimately the best long term option

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1

I agree with everyone above. Remove is most sensible decision by miles.

If they really really really want to keep it: