One for the Tree Officers

Spideylj

I work as a TO for a LPA and I'm looking to review our TPO's, some of which, date back to the 1950's.  We currently have in excess of 300 TPO records over a relatively small Borough.

One of the issues I am looking at is ensuring that our TPO's are constantly under review and relevant.  My thought is to carry out an exercise to reduce the number of TPO's down to 20 that would be geographically based on the ward boundaries of the Council.  The older TPO's would be resurveyed using the TEMPO method and where appropriate the trees brought in to the new TPO's.  The idea of this is to ensure that the TPO's remain current by using variations rather than a process of continual review, revoke, remake type system (there's only one of me).

Obviously, the T, G and W classifications would be used rather than the area one as this is only meant for short-term protection.

So my questions are:

1. Do you foresee any problems of managing TPO's in this way?
  2. Are there any other LPA's that manage their TPO's in a similar way?
  3. How do you keep your TPO's reviewed and relevant?

Thanks for all your help in advance,

Lee

Not really in answer to any of your specific questions but here's some thoughts, in no particular order:

The lions share of that task will be ensuring that all those who must be notified/consulted are served a copy of the new tpo's and notified when an old one is revoked. If you have an admin team available who will prepare lists of addresses and land reg for owners, then print off all the necessary papers, stuff the envelopes and serve them correctly then that's fine. Do not underestimate how many people you need to notify but don't let that be a reason to not review your tpo's.