Stihl 441 problem

onetruth

I have a problem with my 441.  Basically it cuts out within a couple of seconds at full revs, and can manage maybe 15 seconds max under load if I only throttle it half-way.  The exhaust also seems abnormally hot.  No problems starting (hot or cold), the saw hasn't seen much use (still on first bar).

I am loathed to take it to the dealer (not very close) as it means losing two whole days - one to take it and one to retrieve it, but having read this thread I fear it may be the only option.  Can anyone suggest anything simple I could try beforehand?  I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to engines - I doubt I'd recognise a carburettor if I shat one out.   

Thanks!

Edited by onetruth

11 minutes ago, Rough Hewn said:

Looks ok ish,
I'm no mechanic, just do my own saws.
Could be many things.
Start with the cheapest and easiest to change.
There are a few guys on here who know saws well.
How old is the saw?
emoji106.png

Two years I think, occasional use.  Never been serviced, though, and apart from sharpening the chain, gets very little tlc.  This is the first time the spark plug's been removed, for example.  Air filter looks really clean.  Fuel filter looks (as far as I can tell) ok.  I don't think that this is the saw that I put chain oil into the fuel tank! 

Does the saw idle OK with no issues?

If it does idle OK then it sounds like fuel starvation when the saw is under load or max revs. Typical issues - split or kinked fuel line, blocked breather, blocked gauze strainer in the carb, carb needs cleaning from standing, blocked fuel filter etc

2 hours ago, spudulike said:

Does the saw idle OK with no issues?

If it does idle OK then it sounds like fuel starvation when the saw is under load or max revs. Typical issues - split or kinked fuel line, blocked breather, blocked gauze strainer in the carb, carb needs cleaning from standing, blocked fuel filter etc