Chainsaw Gloves

ANDYDMC

Hi ladies and gents,

I'm a newbie to this site so if I have posted in the wrong forum please let me know.

I'm not a professional chainsaw user but use a Husqy 435 for cutting up deadwood and logs for firewood from my brother-inlaw's forest for myself. 

I don't climb trees and keep my feet firmly on the ground.

I've gone through quite a few chainsaw gloves and I am wondering for advice for the best possible chainsaw gloves that offers the highest class of protection. 

I have seen these:

Arbortec AT900 Expert Chainsaw Gloves

I appreciate everyone has their own preferences.

Thanks

Andy

Most pros don't ware them dude. They were designed to protect the back of the hand from being damaged by the "chainbreak" in the days when chainsaw chainbreak were made of metal and didn't actually function as a chainbreak, just a barrier between the front-most hand and the chain in a kickback. That's why some brands only have padding on the left hand glove, though most seem to pad both now. There is some argument that the padding could offer some small protection if one was using a top handle saw one handed, and the off hand got in the way, but if proper work practice is respected this should never happen, and even then, the % protection would be minimal at best. As I understand it the HSE requirements for gloves is something of a mistake, as most chainsaw gloves actually don't allow the same grip strength and friction as modern working gloves, green palm or black. Both pairs I own, are sub-par in this respect and I feel they actually put me at risk, especially the Hysqvarna ones, which are leather and downright slippery when wet.

• Like 1