Magnolia tree pruning

Dodge

Hi guys,

just after a bit of advice we have been asked to reduce (height and width) an established Magnolia tree that has been left to its own devices for a number of years. The customer is only wanting it reduced now as there is a danger of limbs failing in the wind, the canopy is fairly vigorous on multi stems of an average 4-5 inch diameter to a height of  20-25 feet She wants it down to about 12 feet, so there is some protection from the wind by a close by hedge

my problems are

1, have never reduced a Magnolia tree and

2, I have heard they are susceptible to die back , this I need to avoid as the tree is of great sentimental value to the customer

My thoughts are a reduction over a number of years rather than straight in, so as not to stress the tree to much in one go. But as I said I have no experience to draw on as I have never reduced one before !! Any advice would be welcome at this stage !!!

Cheers guys

I've a couple at home. Pruning normally results in a mass of new water shoots growing vertically. I think the accepted advice generally is to avoid pruning. 

I don't where you are, I'm in Manchester and hardiness doesn't seem to be much of an issue.

I think any pruning is likely to cause unwanted consequences, so is reduction really necessary - on the stated grounds. Are there indications, or a history, of failure. Could some bracing or other means of support be an option, or is it really that the tree has outgrown its position?

Others may have differing experiences, but any that I've done haven't reacted well and IMO lost their aesthetic appeal - but I'm probably overly fussy.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Gary Prentice said:

I've a couple at home. Pruning normally results in a mass of new water shoots growing vertically. I think the accepted advice generally is to avoid pruning. 

I don't where you are, I'm in Manchester and hardiness doesn't seem to be much of an issue.