CS100 blade bolts....

njc110381

Well what a day that's been! Who'd have thought such a basic job would be so bloody hard?! And it's still not done!

Yep, today I tried to change the blades on my CS100. Got my shiny new set ready, spanners in hand and set to taking it apart. I've never done one before but it was easy enough, until I got to the blade bolts. Do they put these things in with superglue or something? I can't shift a single one of them!

First off I just went for the standard socket set spanner with the T40 bit. Nope, not budging. Ok I thought, I'll give them all a good smack with te hammer and get the breaker bar out. That usually works... Nope, not happening. So out comes the plusgas for an hour's soak. Guess what... Nope, not budging. By this point I'm beginning to get a little irritated, so having a little idea how to play this game, I got a length of copper bar and hammered it into the bolt head. Copper is soft, so it form fits perfectly. It also conducts heat really well. "I'll f***ing show you you f***ers"... I thought to myself as I soaked the blades in oil and proceeded to torch the bar. For those who don't know, this is a great way to apply really intense heat to a screw or bolt without really applying much heat to the surroundings. Fill the bolt hole with oil and cook the bar/bolt until the oil boils. Boiling oil penetrates much faster than cold oil. Meanwhile the blade stays cool enough to touch. All good.

So 15 minutes later all bolts have been oiled, heated and attacked with the impact driver. Two pretty good quality T40 bits in the bin and I'm knackered. I hate to say it but the b****** has beaten me! I've left it to soak over night and I'm off out for a curry and beer to drown my sorrows. By the time tomorrow comes, hopefully a couple of you lovely lot will have shown me the way and all will be well.... PLEASE!!!!