Horse Chestnut

Sciadopitys

I looked at a horse chestnut earlier in the week, it had 3 major limbs that had split bark all the way along almost to the tips, and one of them had snapped out at the top and fell onto a public footpath. There is a little bit of brown gunk oozing out of the trunk at about head height, but nothing major at this stage. Bleeding canker i presume?

The tree overhangs a public footpath and powerlines, is reducing the weight of the infected limbs a sufficient cause of action? Or should limbs be removed completey or tree removed to elimanate this risk entirely? Removing the 3 limbs would ruin the shape of the tree, and would cause the tree severe stress. I want to just reduce the branches and maybe take one off, but i would first like to know how bleeding canker affects strucutal integrity.

Sorry for my ignorance, i have very little knowledge of bleeding canker and similar problems! :blushing:

Bleeding canker, Phytophthora cactorum and p.citricola, fungus grows through tree killing the phloem and cambium, the exudate bleeding out does not contain the fungus. Your best control is to cut out all dead wood, sterilise your swas afterwards or you will move it around with ya. Get a digi photo of the tree and the limbs which look fine, then take a photo at other end of summer, give you an indication of rate of transfer. it will probably be the demise of the tree. If you have severe bark necrosis then you may be at the point where little else can help, quite often the tree becomes victim of other pathogenic attack due to tree being stressed, enzymes produced as a response to stressed are detected in and around the soil by other dormant pathogens. As for structural integrity, me reading up right now, right now judgement call on VTA'ing the tree .i have a tree in fairly poor state in Hessle, that fella is coming down in the next couple of weeks, just awaiting council say so