Telling the difference between G. adspersum and G. applanatum?

Harrison2604

Evening, as some of you know, I'm a novice with fungi... I know the odd one here and there and I'm trying to broaden my knowledge :thumbup1:

Could somebody PLEASE tell me, the major differences between G. adspersum and G. applanatum? They both look the same to me.

:thumbdown:

:001_rolleyes: when you get this one sorted in the field let me know!

Microscopes the only way my man.

:001_rolleyes: when you get this one sorted in the field let me know!

Microscopes the only way my man.

I agree with Tony, we have similar problems amongst other species over here the only way to be certain is via the microscope, and TBH for me that means getting someone in the Qld Mycological Soc to run their beadies over it.:blushing: Maybe in a year I'll have access to a scope.

• 3 years later...

We recently had the opportunity to have a closer 'look' at some of the microscopic distinquishing features between these two very similar species.

Visually.........

both have similar looking perennial fruitbodies.

both have similar sized circular pores (although G. applanatum have average slightly more pores(4-6 per mm) as opposed to G, australe which are spaced at about 3-4 per mm

They both have brown(ish) spore.

They both share similar but not exclusive hosts. Tilia, Quercus, Aesculus given as shared host species. (Schwarze & Ferner)

Anecdotaly, the presence of the galls from Agathomyia wankowici (yellow flat footed fly) on the underside of a bracket, is often given in (various) text as a nod toward G. applanatum although I've been told that these have been noted on G. australe also

The ability to indent the upper surface (due to it being thinner) is given as a feature of G. applanatum.

Thinner edged rim is noted for G. applanatum

A decurrent attachment is given as indicating G. australe.