Dealing With Learning Difficulties In Training...

DriveLink

As some of you may be aware, I'm a trainer at Sparsholt College, and I've noticed an increase lately in the number of students on my courses that have learning difficulties - dyslexia, in particular.

I try to help those students out that either request it, or after talking to them about it, would like some form of assistance. To be honest, this normally means putting information across in a different manner (of course, this can help anyone really).

One of the reason why I make videos / audio programmes available is to help those who would prefer to watch / listen to something rather than read the course notes / assessment schedule.

If you are a trainer, how do you help your students? If you're a student, what would have helped you out on a course?

I strongly believe that by making information more widely available and accessible to all, accidents in industry can be reduced, as well as knowledge increased.

I'd be interested in your thoughts...

David.

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Is this of use to anyone..?

On my website, I've just put up a post about helping dyslexic learners and I've included a pictorial representation of the steps in sharpening a chain.

To be perfectly honest, it's actually a storyboard for a video that I want to make, so it's pretty scant of actual information, but it shows the sharpening process broken down into 8 steps. After I'd finished drawing it out, I wondered if it would be at all useful for others.

If you want to download it, then pop over to Drive Link: Supporting Dyslexic Learners, click on the picture and print it off (it is sized to print on a normal sheet of A4).

If it is useful, then please feel free to use it. If not, then no harm done. The video will be along later...

Cheers,

David.

Good Man David,

I was told at school that I was dyslexic, so school was a bit more of a nightmare than the usual challenge. :angry: