Isa further education

Capstankid!

Hi,

I have been climbing for 6 years and have a bit of knowledge with tree work.

I have most tickets from Cs30-42 and UA tickets up to 3 and a SVQ2 in Arboriculture.

My question is I have heard of folk doing further education with the ISA but is it a recognised certificate in the UK and which course would you say to do.

Cheers

Joe

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Joe,

In general, I would highly recommend the ISA Certified Arborist qualification as an excellent course of study to supplement your practical skills quals. However, you say you have a SVQ level 2 in arb so it may not be as valuable / useful to you as it is for others.

Dependent upon the existing level of knowledge you have might it be better to try for a level 3/4 course? That said, whilst the ISA CA is categorised as level2 on the UK quals framework the level of learning associated is probably at level 3.

Hope this helps, at least a little..

Paul

Hi Joe,

In general, I would highly recommend the ISA Certified Arborist qualification as an excellent course of study to supplement your practical skills quals. However, you say you have a SVQ level 2 in arb so it may not be as valuable / useful to you as it is for others.

Dependent upon the existing level of knowledge you have might it be better to try for a level 3/4 course? That said, whilst the ISA CA is categorised as level2 on the UK quals framework the level of learning associated is probably at level 3.

Hope this helps, at least a little..

Paul

Paul, When the AA and ISA merge will you be suggesting that the Cert arb gets a level 3 status or is that above the AA's remit?

Ive always felt the ISA cert arb is higher than a two with the CEUs you have to acquire over the 3 years. My thoughts being you pass another equivalent level 2 and you never need to open a book again, seems a bit daft.