Sweet chestnut posts

alex_w

Hi all,

I am new to milling, although do a lot of tree work on the estate where I work. I have a sawmill coming in to mill some sweet chesnut trunks from derelict coppice 10-18" diameter to produce fence posts for the estate, and wondered whether the longevity of milled SC is as good and cleft stakes. i was thinking of maybe 4x3", as we use 3-4" pressure treated softwood round stakes at the moment. Does this sound about right? Also have ordered an Alaskan small log milling unit to go on my MS390 for some of the other bits and pieces, so very excited to get started

Cleft is always the best, as it tends to cut across very few of the grains, leaving little to no end grain. however due to the durability that SC has anyway, i wouldnt get too concerned. It dooes split readily though, and looks awesome when cleft.

I know this is the milling forum, but have you tried cleaving it? It still cleaves well when it gets bigger - you just have to split it with wedges first. Does depend on whether you want a sawn or cleaved surface look though.

Alec

Hi,

I did try a bit of cleaving...it's easy to start with but gets harder the smaller they get. Ideally i'd like a sawn surface or 2, and we need several hundred posts. I'll put some picks on when the mill comes,

Alex

I mill a lot of SC posts. from 4x4 to 12x12s They last very well post on the estate that have been in the ground 30 years, which is about their max life.

Just be careful about milling 10-18" coppice stuff. It springs all over the shop you won't get a straight post out of any of it. Cleaving might be the best way.

oh no, you've me worried. i've noticed some of the trunks have cracks in them already. I suppose they have been under tension leaning out from the stool and when felled the fibres are freed. I thought of doing 4x3 posts but maybe 4x4 will be stronger. I have some 6ft long sections I could practice on with cleaving. What size trunks do you mill for you 4x4's?

Alex