What do you expect if someone else services your saws?

sicoopey

Hello,

First proper post here, so be gentle.

I am very new to this but I completed my CS30 this week and learned quite a lot. One thing that came to light was the state of my chainsaw. Before using the saw, and going on the course, I had it serviced by a garden machinery firm that does that sort of thing but lo and behold a fair few things were not flagged up and I was unable to use the saw for the cross cutting.

So if you sent your saw to be serviced would you expect it to come back with an old and worn out guide bar, a worn sprocket with obvious wear marks - like 2mm maybe?!, a chain with no identifying brand probably off the interwebz, the old spark plug and a broken, ineffective chain catcher? :thumbdown:

Should these things at least have been flagged up, or is it all down to the user to know w t f they are doing?

Thanks a lot in advance

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Not very good . Did you ask the what the " service " consisted of ? Consumables like bar and chain , powermate sprocket air filter spark plug I would do myself . Major stuff like tear down and rebuild now a days I would ask spud .

Edited by Stubby

First proper post here, so be gentle.

Trying to be gentle but I'd have also thought you would have looked through the course material before the course and noted a few bits, such as the bar and sprocket wear.

I would have assumed the service would have at least warned me if something needed replacing or was dangerous.