Petrol in Diesel Engine.

Dax

The mrs managed to put 9 litres of petrol in her diesel vectra. Advised by local vauxhall dealer to fill tank and all should be ok. Filled it up no problems and drove home. Two hours later went to drive car and now wont work.

Any thoughts ?

when u say don't work, do u mean it doesn't fire at all but just cranks over or it fires a bit then stops of runs rough but not for long???

I can't offer any easy answers as usually a diesel will run happily with a little petrol in it, but maybe the cars injection system can't handle to 'thinner' petrol mix and is failing to operate at normal working pressure?:confused1:

Don't take any more advise from that dealer?

Sorry, could not resist.

Petrol does not have the lubricating properties of diesel and can wear the pumps down quite quickly. Especially in a common rail engine as the pumps are built with very small tolerances as they produce such high pressure.

I'm no expert on Vauxhalls though, is it old/new? what engine is in it? How far was it driven?

There could be a sensor telling the ecu not to start. At the pumps you would have started on neat diesel and then run on mix so may have got you home. Or the petrol has killed your pump or injectors due to the extra heat petrol is alot more volatile. A friend of mine was going to a funeral and did the same thing to a golf tdi drove home and we flushed and drained everything. The car now goes better than before. I think its often luck of the draw. Common rail diesels run at alot higher pressures and closer tolerances and tend to be less tolerant of abuse.