Help me please! Cable-bracing

apggs

Ladies and gents,

Help please! I have no experience of working with cable bracing whatsoever and would really appreciate some help and words of wisdom :biggrin:

Hypothetical recommendations for a real-life situation (uni assignment).

Avenue of 88 years old F. sylvatica some cabled, some not. Of those that are, some are intact and some have snapped.

From a management recommendation stance, what do I recommend for the trees with snapped braces? I have no idea how long they've been snapped, but long enough for them to have gone very rusty. They are an old type that are drilled into the co-dom, but not all the way through.

Am I correct in thinking that it would be poor to recommend removing the bolts as this will leave a massive great hole that will allow in P&D. It could be argued that the cabling wasn't needed at the time of prescription.

If I decide to recommend re-instating the braces, what happens to the old ones?

Many thanks for your time.

Adam

If the broken braces are unsightly then cut the cable off without cutting into the tree. The tree will occlude the metal in time without any problems.

If the braces do need replacing you are better of with dynamic non invasive bracing which allows some movement. Movement as long as it is not too excessive allows the trees to put on adaptive growth and strengthen themselves.

Whether or not new bracing is required and any current in tact bracing needs re -inforcing is a matter for an inspection.

Hi Adam.

If you post some pics of the beech trees in question with good detail?

I'll be happy to help you.

All these new synthetic dynamic cabling systems are pure junk IMO.

Jomoco

Jomoco, have you at some point been tied up with dynamic hollow rope bracing and left dangling up in tree by any chance? :biggrin:

I've followed most of your anti rope cabling posts and am intrigued by your negativity.

Do you not see any situations where that type is beneficial as opposed to wire ?