College course or otherwise?

JJW

Currently living in Bristol looking to change to an arb career - seeing as I have no qualifications yet I need to decide on which one to do - there seem to be loads of different options.

I'm origionally from Ipswich and have family there so I'm looking at moving back home to go to college with a view to getting an apprentiship when I can. Has anyone been to Otley & Easton college, or know how their courses stack up against the expensive intensive courses avaliable elseware?

Cheers

Hey,

I've just finished my first week at Otley college studying the level 3 extended diploma in Arboriculture and Forestry. It's a 3 day a week course but I do know that the college others 10 week intensive courses, so if you decide going down that route you'll be good to go into the industry. Depending on how old you are the fees for the course will differ. I can't really say how the courses from other colleges stand because I'm very new to Arboriculture myself so hopefully someone will give you that information. If you don't drive then there are buses from Ipswich that will take you directly to the college.

The content of the courses should all be the same and the assessors are all standardised through City & Guilds, so the best way to pick is what will suit your circumstances best. Can you afford to take 10 weeks off to study, or would it be better to get the basic 5 day chainsaw + wood chipper under your belt so you can get some work as a groundsman and then add on skills as you get the money and experience? Otley and BTS both have a good reputation in that local area, so it comes down to what mode of training will suit your circumstances best I think.

Good luck with the new career.

Sorry but IMO if you follow Dutchy's advice about just getting a few tickets, you will end up as just another chopper who may be able to climb but cant ID one stick from another or understand remediation options and has no real solutions to daily problems.