Woodmizer business

Acer Forestry

I'm considering trying to cobble together enough for a mobile sawmill, get trained up and go out as hired operator. Don't want to thin down business for others in my area, but there isn't much work about and I'd like to earn some decent money, if only on a part time basis. Does this sound feasible, given the considerable outlay?

It's feasible certainly, but you are going to want to spend the most you can on a saw. Anything less than fully hydraulic is going to frustrate you and your customers no end. A hydraulic mill will cut many times more in a day than a manual mill and you won't be as tired at the end of it. For instance, I have a fully hydraulic Logmaster LM2 and we cut 11.5t of average 35cm diameter 4m western red cedar yesterday (29 logs). I don't think we'd have done more than 10-12 logs on a manual mill.

Where abouts are you?

It's feasible certainly, but you are going to want to spend the most you can on a saw. Anything less than fully hydraulic is going to frustrate you and your customers no end. A hydraulic mill will cut many times more in a day than a manual mill and you won't be as tired at the end of it. For instance, I have a fully hydraulic Logmaster LM2 and we cut 11.5t of average 35cm diameter 4m western red cedar yesterday (29 logs). I don't think we'd have done more than 10-12 logs on a manual mill.

Where abouts are you?

That's an impressive output J very productive 20+ yrs ago I used to help out in a sawmill and he had a new Tom Sawyer with a lister Diesel engine

To replace the circular saw that was impressive but nothing like your output

That's an impressive output J very productive 20+ yrs ago I used to help out in a sawmill and he had a new Tom Sawyer with a lister Diesel engine

To replace the circular saw that was impressive but nothing like your output