New MS150 Stihl and carving bar

• 1 month later...
mixed reports. some like em, some hate em. several people have had them split within an hour or so of very light work. im gonna pass i think. the sugi bar is a bit narower than the standard stihl dime bar and works for me

People love the small tip but as above I have had x4 back out of x20 with split tips which is not good.

That's not to say wasted money as all x4 of these were warranty replaced and to be fair the manufacturer is going to back these and also look at improving their processes - it just looks like the weld at the very tip needs strengthening.

:001_smile:

I tried out mine today and I went very easy on it. So far so good. Ran black oil for less than a minute and is now running clean, didn't let it get too hot.

It's my first time with the ms150 and I found it a little unresponsive on the trigger, almost like a delay of power from the trigger to the chain. A bit like the ms170. Hope it picks up or I'll just have to get used to it.

Other than that it's a lovely light saw:biggrin:

Well thats the news from the man who knows. Rob, did you see the post that Tom (splinters) put up on this forums a couple weeks back? referring to a new stihl bar?

People love the small tip but as above I have had x4 back out of x20 with split tips which is not good.

That's not to say wasted money as all x4 of these were warranty replaced and to be fair the manufacturer is going to back these and also look at improving their processes - it just looks like the weld at the very tip needs strengthening.