How do I build a client base? - countryside & garden services

benpritchard

I've been doing rail, domestic and forestry work full time for the last 3 years but now I want to go it alone doing countryside and gardening jobs. I've got the basic contracting kit and skills, from building sheds/fences to clearing scrub and felling. And I studied horticulture at college.

How did you guys get started? What kit do you view as essential? Flyers? Website? What information on advertising - a full list of services, or simply 'cointryside & garden services?

Any help much appreciated

Cheers

Ben

I've been doing rail, domestic and forestry work full time for the last 3 years but now I want to go it alone doing countryside and gardening jobs. I've got the basic contracting kit and skills, from building sheds/fences to clearing scrub and felling. And I studied horticulture at college.

How did you guys get started? What kit do you view as essential? Flyers? Website? What information on advertising - a full list of services, or simply 'cointryside & garden services?

Any help much appreciated

Cheers

Ben

Hi Ben, I would suggest that "word of mouth" is everything, well certainly very important and particularly in the domestic sector and when just starting out, so maybe try to kick start this with an ad in a few local parish mags etc (usually cheap and keeping travel to a minimum.)

Keep any advertising simple and to the point and find your 'USP'...which may just be your natural charm n persona :001_rolleyes:

Good luck,

Paul

PS Others, far better qualified to advise, will hopefully follow here...if only to say what I've said is nonsense :confused1::001_smile:

It does take time.

Make sure your customers are happy. I've had far more compliment on the standard of the tidy up than the quality of the work, sad, but true. I guess they know more about a clean drive than good arb, so no point worrying.