what equipment for a newbie?

Paul in France

This is my first time on this forum.

I have recently moved to France and bought a house which comes with 2 hectares of uneven pasture with some steep slopes and 3 hectares of woodland, mainly oak, also on a slope and quite difficult to access. We hadn't set out to acquire so much land and woodland but now we have it we want to take advantage of it particularly to fell for logs as we have 2 wood burners.

We'd hoped to come to a deal with a professional to fell and take a proportion as payment but because of the ground conditions it's not commercially viable.

For the last 3 months we've been staying with friends on a similar property and have been thinning out their woodland and producing logs for firewood quite successfully using chainsaws and a small articulated tractor and trailer.

I'm now considering what would be the best sort of equipment to get for our place.

If I could get a small tractor that we could use on the pasture to mow and rotavate as well as to haul logs out of the woodland that seems to me the ideal solution. I've seen a used Kubota B7001 that looks like it may do the job and gets good reviews, Does anyone have any advice on that particular piece of kit or recommend something else?

All advice will be appreciated as you will gather this is a big learning experience for us and we can't afford to just pay professionals to do it for us.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome Paul.

I'll start by saying... you lucky sod....:001_tongue:

I can't really give you any specific advice re forwarding equipment, although I will say it does depend how big the timber you're moving actually is.

A little Kubota on decent tyres with a small ATV forwarding trailer on wide tyres might be good enough for you, unless the ground is wet.