Cobra Synthetic Cabling Merits?

jomoco

Who's used them with good results?

How long has your oldest installation lasted?

Any failed installations?

I've been cabling and bracing trees for 30 years now, the vast majority of it old school drop forged steel through bolt installations, using EHS 7 strand cable along with cable grips for the last twenty years.

Not a fan of Cobra's encircling terminations, nor any synthetics durability over time compared to steel, particularly in terms of heat and abrasion resistance.

Granted that static steel installations cause the tree to become dependent on the system's integrity quicker, and to a greater degree.

But the frailty of synthetics, and inferior encircling termination attachment methods, of a system that also causes tree dependency, albeit at a slower rate, causes me to give Cobra cabling an emphatic thumbs down.

In fact I'm such an old school luddite that I don't believe in cabling at all unless it compensates for a real identifiable, quantifiable fault/flaw in the trees structure, either above or below ground.

Thanks for any feedback, both negative or positive.

Jomoco

• Replies 135
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've installed dozens over the last decade and as far as i'm aware all are still there.

I have had to remove/replace a few failed ones that other people have installed but every time it's been due to incorrect installation.

It amazes me how often i see them poorly installed, they are so easy to do correctly with a bit of common sense.

I like the system. It lets the tree naturally flex but helps prevent the excessive flex in strong winds. This should allow the tree to still put on increment girth and reaction growth where it is needed.

I'm not so sure whether it would hold a major failure together but if there was a strong chance of that then i would be recommending removal of the tree.