Thinking about a different way to store Firewood

WHaines

Hello,

Newbie here, got a question for all you log sellers.

I'm relatively new to the firewood game (2years) but expanding and just trying to think of ways of utilising what facilities I have available to me and essentially trying to maximise efficiency!

I'm based on a large farm (inlaws) so have access to all the usual farm equipment to make handling easy.

At the moment I have been processing logs into vented bags and storing them under a lean-to to season.

Do you recon it would work to process the logs straight into the grain-store into a big pile and then run a load of column dryers through the log pile to keep air pumping around them to dry them out?

And then I could just get a 1m3 bucket for the telehandler and bucket out a load straight into the trailer and not have to worry about the bags stretching/ripping?

Should probably mention that we are self sufficient with regards to electricity through a roof full of solar panels so running the dryers wouldn't be an issue.

How do you think the logs would store and season with this method?

Worth a go or am I just pissing in the wind?

Thanks for any advice in advance!

Will.

Has the grainstore got drying floors? That would work well imo. Pedestal type driers (which I have some) could work but limited i reckon.

Unfortunately not! We have a grain dryer and then a load of Pedestal driers.

I did wander whether it would be effective enough, was thinking about 10 of them in a pile of logs about 150m3?

The biggest attraction for me is the idea of being able to have them in a loose pile to bucket up easily.

I can see several potential problems.

The farm may need the space as a grain store, or maybe a wet grain store for grain awaiting being put through the drier.

The drier blowing air through the stack will work but is likely to be pretty expensive to run and arguably unnecessary. Sell that energy