Cattle stock fencing

t0ny0k

I've been asked by a farmer who is a friend of a relative to quote, to erect some fencing to keep his cows in. I have just starting up doing Trees & fencing. I have plenty of experience doing fencing for private houses but have never done anything on a bigger scale for a farmer.

Have you any advice on how to tackle the job and how do I quote for it.

Where would somebody by the wire fencing required in the Pontypridd area.

I want to do a good job as I would like to approach the farmer to rent some land from him in the future if the tree surgery part of the business takes off.

I've been asked by a farmer who is a friend of a relative to quote, to erect some fencing to keep his cows in. I have just starting up doing Trees & fencing. I have plenty of experience doing fencing for private houses but have never done anything on a bigger scale for a farmer.

I want to do a good job as I would like to approach the farmer to rent some land from him in the future if the tree surgery part of the business takes off.

I do this work, to be competitive you need to be mechanised, tractor, knocker, wire spooling equipment, wire tensioners and the usual hammer, spirit level kind of tools.

How many metres?

This is a guide to the national average price, check top of page 3.

Edited by Goaty

I am fencer and without being cheeky, you should have already done some for free or cheap rate to gain experience, there is so much to factor in, ground conditions, terrain, what type of animal's, are they wild, are they cow's and calves, or store cattle, will there be sheep,

Then there's the materials, post spacing, spec of wire, are you running ain lines along .with your stock net, where will the pressure points be, next to gates, water troughs, sheltered areas, a lot to take I to account but only experience and trial and error will teach you,

My early work isn't a patch on my latest work and it also.most embarrasses me but we all have to learn