Drive sprocket size for milling

Green Man Home and Garden

I am new to the world of milling and need to rip some 3 ft oak trunks in half to get them to a manageable size to get them out of a wet location and transport them for milling on a rack saw.

I am looking to mate a ms880 with a 36" Duromatic E bar running a 3/8" 10deg ripping chain all mounted on a Granberg mini mill.

I need to replace the .404 rim sprocket for a 3/8" sprocket and would like any advice on using a 7,8 or 9 tooth sprocket or indeed any disadvantages of my proposed set up.

Many thanks.

880 should be great on a 36in bar.

I'd get all three sprockets and a chain to fit the largest. Hopefully it flies on an 8 or 9, if not then all you need to do is remove a link or two.

If one chain length fits all (unlikely but you never know, it should be OK on two of the sprockets though) then you're laughing, and can pick the best sprocket according to what you're milling at the time.

I'd try and stay clear of the duromatic bars if possible - nose gets hot and causes problems but fine in the short term.

Personally with an 880 I'd stick to .404 chain - better chip clearance and stay sharp - 3/8 saves negligible kerf and is no faster (In my experience that is - some like it!).

Run on a 7 pin - torque is what you want not chain speed even with an 880 it has to work hard.

If in doubt play around with options as everyone has their favourite and ideas of what works best - I know someone who runs .325 chain with x2 MS880s on a double ended set up... they like it and have had no problems although not something I would do.

:001_smile:

Thanks for your help.