Welcome to the Arbtalk.co.uk | Discussion Forum for Arborists.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.


General chat Discuss every day issues in the tree care industry. If you're unsure where to post your topic please choose this forum.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-09-16   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: mid wales
Posts: 184
Rotatech chain

Bought some at apf
any one used it
forestgough is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-16   #2 (permalink)
htb
Senior Member, Raffle Sponsor 2011, 2014, 2015
 
htb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 643
Re: Rotatech chain

Big thread on here. Some like it some loath it. Personally use Stihl or Oregon
htb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-16   #3 (permalink)
gdh
Senior Member
 
gdh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mid/South Wales
Posts: 622
Re: Rotatech chain

I bought one to but haven't used it yet. It's the new name for piranha chains if you're looking for the thread here.
gdh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-16   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member, Raffle Sponsor 2015
 
TimberCutterDartmoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Out of range
Posts: 11,395
Re: Rotatech chain

I've only tried the .404 for 10 minutes. Like I say, 10 minutes.
__________________
Softwood pays the bills.
TimberCutterDartmoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-16   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
5 shires's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,512
Re: Rotatech chain

Quote:
Originally Posted by forestgough View Post
Bought some at apf
any one used it
Did have a look at at there chains and bars...seems good value for the money just didn't have the size bar and chain I wanted but sales guy(who was very knowledgeable and helpful) said they are working towards different size bars and chains...worth a crack for the price.
5 shires is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-16   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 135
Re: Rotatech chain

I use them on a Stihl 180 and have to say that for 5 a chain, they are very good value.

Yes, there's a bit more stretch initially but generally, I don't see too much difference between the Rotatech at 5 and the Stihl at 15 plus. Except the price, of course!

Just my personal opinion.
Ilnumero is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-16   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member, Raffle Sponsor 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
 
Treeworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 407
Re: Rotatech chain

They're excellent, no problems at all with them use them on 200t 261 and 660.
Treeworld is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member, Raffle Sponsor 2014
 
billpierce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 729
Re: Rotatech chain

Just had a 74dl 325 1.6 chain arrive for a ms361 18" bar and it's too small to fir on bar and sprocket. I really gave it some and managed to squeeze it on bit the back or bar was pressed tight onto the sprocket and I wasn't going to run it like that. It is the correct amount of DL have counted. I tried stretching it with a bottle jack but hasn't made aby better.

Any ideas?

Pretty much lost the small saving I made for buying a cheap chain by having to mess about with it for 40 mins now.....

Sent from my C6603 using Arbtalk mobile app
billpierce is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member, Raffle Sponsor 2014
 
billpierce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 729
Re: Rotatech chain

Name:  1492787938675.jpg
Views: 300
Size:  50.5 KBName:  1492787950347.jpg
Views: 299
Size:  42.9 KB
See how much longer the old chains is, same number of drive links

Sent from my C6603 using Arbtalk mobile app
billpierce is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member, Raffle Sponsor 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
 
Stubby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,990
Re: Rotatech chain

Are you using an 8 pin ? If so fit a 7 pin and run it for a bit till its done the initial "stretch " and go back to the 8 pin .
__________________
If you catch a weasel asleep.... piss in his ear ....
Stubby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW Rotatech video Northernarbsupplies Chainsaws 65 27-10-16 09:33 AM
Saturn Machine Knives/Rotatech Steve Bullman Arbtalk Christmas Charity Raffle 2013 1 10-07-16 12:04 PM
Rotatech Press Release Steve Bullman News 0 17-03-16 07:38 PM
GBT/GBL Blades in stock at Rotatech ScottT General chat 3 09-08-15 05:36 AM
Saturn Machine Knives/Rotatech Steve Bullman Arbtalk Christmas Charity Raffle 2012 0 07-12-12 01:17 PM


Find tree care advice

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0