How much wood do you get through ?

kev7937

Hi all

This is my first year with a wood burner and I'm slightly surprised how much I burn, my stove is rated at 3 to 7 Kw and its heating a smallish 3 bed bungalow which is fairly well insulated .

If I have the stove on all day I use about 5 wheely bins a month about 1.2 meters I think.

Is this excessive ?

Thanks.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

We have had a Rayburn and log burner for 3 years now, averages out at about 15 cube for the whole year. Rayburn is on 24/7 for the winter and then just afternoon/evening rest of year.

Just had 14 solar pv panels fitted so electricity bill should come down by half - and that's our only fuel bill!

This may be the wrong place to ask

Most tree surgeons with log burners burn their own wood and don't really count.

In fact probably keep the house much hotter than necessary.

I know we do.

It's a case of burning less when guests drop by

I'm looking at my log pile and hoping it stays cold enough long enough to get through it all by spring so I can have my patio back:biggrin:

I was stunned by how much the woodburner in this house we moved to gets through.. a good wheelbarrow-full a day and i'd estimate some 10 cube+ since october.

If I wasn't retired with free wood then i could earn more in the time spent cutting/splitting than it'd cost to buy oil and save the hassle, mess and dust..

This may be the wrong place to ask

Most tree surgeons with log burners burn their own wood and don't really count.

In fact probably keep the house much hotter than necessary.

I know we do.

It's a case of burning less when guests drop by

I'm looking at my log pile and hoping it stays cold enough long enough to get through it all by spring so I can have my patio back:biggrin:

But as I am also a tree surgeon burning my own wood I can't count either, so as were all in the same boat it must count ( I think ).. :confused1::biggrin: