Hydraulic power pack for splitter

Tom at Heartwood

I'm wondering if a petrol engined hydraulic power pack such as a Panther Midi would have a high enough flow rate to run a smallish log splitter (say 6 to 8 tonne) at a reasonable speed.

I would like to have a compact power source and splitter that I could transport in a van and unload with with a swing lift.

The flow rate of the Panther Midi is 20 litres per minute (at 140 bar / 2000 PSI). I'm thinking of the type of splitter designed for mounting on a compact tractor three point linkage.

If anyone has experience or advice on this then I would be glad to hear.

Cheers,

Tom.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've no experience with power packs but it's something i briefly looked into for the same reason. i say briefly because my IH 856xl has a flow rate of 30lpm and i have to run her pretty hard to give a sensible speed on my splitter (not sure of splitter capacity, or in fact how to test... any info on this greatly received).

however on my CX 80 (nigh on 60lpm), just tick over gives fantastic cylinder speed, might have to try that at full pelt just to see how fast she can go!:001_tongue:

Point being that i was put off from power packs as to provide the speed to be efficient i think you'd have to spend some serious money:thumbdown:

hi tom,

we made one from a breaker power pack.

works ace.

cylcle time is approx 3 seconds each way.

will cut through most logs

i was at an auction at the begining of the year and saw a diesel one, half as big again as ours.

keeping my eye out for one of those now to build another, this time with a discharge conveyor :thumbup:

DSC_0058.jpg.47ce0f985c474e906d63d8334b2a8846.jpg

I have a IH885xl that has a 30 ishLPM and that needed to be ran at 1800rpm to get a decent speed from the 10t splitter i have. However it chewed through around 4-5L of red in an hour.