Herbycides, Peskycides and funguycides

SteveA

I've read a few mentions of applying god knows what chemicals to trees, etc from members on arbtalk and thought I'd post this link.... (a French research into the toxic levels of the chemical things you may have been using).

I'm no expert in these chemicals.... we don't use any of this toxic stuff.

Cheers, Beehugger Steve :001_tongue:

Have a read or glance.... thoughts? Garden & Farm Fungicides, Herbicides & Pesticides Far More Toxic Than Originally Thought | Permaculture Magazine

have to say do not like using any of the stuff even though i do use it

but main one is glyphosphate. i get booted and suited when using it.

be interested in reading reports from other bodies. but it must have a effect on our wildlife. hence the crash in the bee population.

as the saying go.s a weed is a flower or plant in the wrong place. maybe we should live with weeds and remove them with less drastic mesures than using all these chemicals.

i now use a cda sprayer as itsprays less so less is used. and no mixing and left overs in tank what you use is used rest goes back in tank for the next time

To be fair, treat this research with a little caution.

I followed the article through to the original research, and there are several flaws in the study. Briefly, some of these are:

- their sample size is n=9, which is too simply small for analytical purposes

- they are not testing the toxicity of the base chemical eg glyposate, they are testing the interaction of the adjuvant and the chemical, (you don't always use adjuvant when applying)

- they don't state at what dose rates they have mixed the chemicals - just advise below agricultural standards (how low? is it comparable to standard 50:1 mix or even weaker garden centre variety strength)