danshayler

Hi all, I am due to leave the forces in a year and intend to qualify as a tree surgeon. I was a landscaper before I joined (15 long years ago), always keep myself in good shape, enjoy the outdoors, honking weather and all that guff...

Basically, I intend to take my newly learned trade abroad, possibly France or Canada and have a few questions before I take the leap:

Can you earn the money abroad? With the French and Canadians alike using wood as fuel more than here, surely everyone has a chainsaw in their shed?

Qualifications wise, before I commit all my resettlement grant to say kingswood for example, are the courses here recognised abroad?

While I'm looking at courses, can anyone reccomend the basics I need to be legally employable to gain experience, including climbing. I am after being a monkey with a saw to begin with, earning some money whist looking at education in conservation, forestry in the long run.

Any help would be greatly appreciated or advice from anyone who has gone down the same route as I intend to do, thanks!

Dan.

NPTC Qualifications are not really recognised here in France. However strictly speaking no qualifications are NEEDED at all as its an unregulated industry. Expect paperwork and bureaucracy at every turn. All that being said, I am trying hard to set myself up here, and its a great place to be :thumbup:

Get a few years experience then travel, everywhere looks for roughly 3+ years climbing experience when applying abroad. Good plan to have a plan B as you won't be able to climb forever. Your NPTC's are a must, CS30 31 38 39 are the basics and a good understanding of tree biology and tree ID will be helpful.

NPTC's are just the start and a gateway to the tree industry.

good luck