346xp old style exhuast mod

Charlieh

ok a little picture thread, I bought this: (sorry about photo quality my camera is on the way out)

HPIM1169.jpg

anyway it was bought as a non runner, after a bit of messing about i decided the carb was the source of the problem,

poor photo but you can just make out the lump of blue pastic that was sitting under the metering needle spring, causing it to constantly flood the engine,

HPIM1164.jpg

Once that was solved it ran quite nicely, then I did a muffler mod on it, opening up the exhuast outlet area to about 75% of the exhuast port (i wanted to be a bit conservative as its my first attempt and a smaller saw, so i didnt see the need to go to 85%+)

After removing the exhuast I had to drill two holes and then filed and dremmel out the edges on both the exhuast and the mounting plate, the problem with the 346 exhuast is that it doesnt mount tight up to the mounting bracket so once you have drilled and filed the exhuast you then have to use needle nosed pliers to gently bend the outside of the hole you have created outwards so it touchs the mounting plate,

I also drilled a hole in the internal baffle as well, as i didnt go to the hastle of spliting the muffler apart, i drilled this hole off center to the exhuast port and new opening so it doesnt have a direct line through, my reasoning for this is that if you push the saw into something bushy like a conifer when limbing and a branch does push the screen in at least its not going to push it straight on/into the the piston

HPIM1166.jpg

I have then just used a small peice of isopon car body repair mesh as a spark arrestor mounted between the exhuast body and mounting plate, just to stop debris entering the exhuast

all told took just over an hour with the retune, which i did by ear need to get it on the tacho really now,