What should be the first step

mickdundee

Is it worth doing a two day user and cross cutting course that is LANTRA recognised. Or can you go straight in at CS30/31.

I've been using a saw for a few years now with no formal training. I'm starting to think about life after the army so gonna try and get at least part way qual'd and gain experience where I can

Thanks in advance for any help

Is it worth doing a two day user and cross cutting course that is LANTRA recognised. Or can you go straight in at CS30/31.

I've been using a saw for a few years now with no formal training. I'm starting to think about life after the army so gonna try and get at least part way qual'd and gain experience where I can

I was like you and had been using a saw for years . About 10 or 12 years ago I did cs 30 / 31 . I passed it ok and it was commented that I seemed to know more than the other people but , don't be complacent . You may be totally competent but to get the tickets do it the way they want on the day .

Just take the plunge... Do the CS30/31 straight away, it's done then and you are qualified. (Qualified to start learning that is! :) )

If you can get some hands on practice with a saw (safely!) first, all the better..... But watch you don't pick up bad habits which you then have to un-learn.

From what I can remember the CS 30/31 is designed to be do-able for an absolute beginner. If you've already got experience (without any ingrained bad habits). You'll be fine.

Timon

Hi Mick,