Experienced climbers

NickinMids

Its often said and would seem reasonable to accept, that to be a good climber takes about three to five years of experience after initial qualifying. I would like to ask the experienced people to elaborate on this. Is it just speed...better more confident balance/positioning.....more efficient planned progress through the tree..etc etc

The available books just give basic concepts.. and book wise what is there.?

Jep Jepson Tree climbers companion and To fell a Tree

The Art and Science of Practical Rigging

Guide to good climbing practice

There's no guides on techniques for tackling particular pruning or removal challenges....no videos of crown reductions etc Or is it just too subjective that only personal experience can teach

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeah I'm in my first year out of training, running my own small business and sub-contracting to other arb companys, one guy said that after about 18months working in big trees it just suddenly clicked and everything was smooth and easy. I guess everyone is different and it depends on what type of work you are doing.

I can get the job done but its only through sweat and tears!

I'm sure reading a book will be helpful but I don't think there is any substitute for graft unfortunately. Not always easy when you don't get given opportunities to climb because you are inexperienced, thats one reason I wanted to be self employed, sometimes I have to chuck myself in the deep end.

Yeah I'm in my first year out of training, running my own small business and sub-contracting to other arb companys, one guy said that after about 18months working in big trees it just suddenly clicked and everything was smooth and easy. I guess everyone is different and it depends on what type of work you are doing.

I can get the job done but its only through sweat and tears!