Husky 353 vs 550XP for occasional user?

tewdric

I am after a new saw to replace my ageing 357XP. The 357 is slight overkill for what I use it for - mainly chopping firewood up to 15" max plus some limbing. I like th epower of the 357 for the former, but I find it a bit rev happy for limbing and find it gets hot easily.

I tend to have a frenzied couple of days working the saw hard but it can then stay in the garage for up to a couple of months doing nothing.

I've had some safety training from a professional arborist and always wear the right kit, but I'm by no means an expert user, so if either saw is prone to reliability issues from operator error I'll probably find out!

I've decided to go down to a 50cc ish machine and have narrowed down the choice on paper to the venerable 353 and the new 550XP.

I'd appreciate views on which would be best for my needs, and any other tips on keeping the saw in good reliable condition with this sort of use. Thanks guys!

i would say that either of those saws are more than what you need,if they are going tobe sat for a couple of months at a time, would seem like an awful waste of money to me, i would go down the route of a semi pro/farm saw, just my opinion tho

i would say that either of those saws are more than what you need,if they are going tobe sat for a couple of months at a time, would seem like an awful waste of money to me, i would go down the route of a semi pro/farm saw, just my opinion tho

Thanks Miker. Would a smaller saw like a 435 be up to the job?

I agree with Miker that if you got a pro saw it may never be used to its full potential but that won t hurt it . Also it does not mean you cant have one if you want one . I would get the best saw I could afford . The bigger the powerhead the least stressed it would be so the longer it will last ( providing out do the usual maintaining of it ) You fill yer boots bud ! :thumbup: