Welcome to the Arbtalk.co.uk | Discussion Forum for Arborists.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.


Business Management Discuss the day to day running of your business here. Discuss accounting, Insurance and staff issues.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-04-09   #1 (permalink)
Senior member, Raffle Sponsor 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012
 
Paul Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Essex
Posts: 3,093
How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

Hi, Just seen an Iveco daily 4910. The owners says its plated at 5200kg but "THE TRUCK HAS BEEN PLATED TACOGRAPH EXEMPT,SO THERE NO NEED FOR AN OPERATORS LICENSE ,CAN DRIVE ON A CAR LICENSE". His words not mine.

I don't think this can be right? he says he has filled out a form when he had it MOT'd.

Does anyone know the legalities?
Paul Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Sciadopitys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 488
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

If its plated at over 3500kg surely it needs a tacho, and you require category C1 to drive it.
__________________
"The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page"
Sciadopitys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
combined tree services's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 3,792
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

contact DVLA i had a similar problem with my lift platform , the seller in my case was correct and even tho it has a tacho it does not require an opperators liscense , however it does require you to have catagory c1 to drive it or pree 1997 liscense
hope this helps you
combined tree services is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #4 (permalink)
Supporting member, Raffle sponsor 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
 
Mick Stockbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rainham, Kent.
Posts: 9,020
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

Is this truck in Kent ? The reason I ask is because the self same thing happened to me a couple of weeks ago. I walked away cos it was suss.

Last edited by Mick Stockbridge; 24-04-09 at 07:31 PM..
Mick Stockbridge is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
niftysteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 1,416
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

a friend of mine was pulled in Essex last week by traffic rozzers telling him he needed a tacho on his LWB sprinter with a trailer on , turns out because he works for a utility (water company ) he is exempt for some reason
niftysteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member, Raffle sponsor 2008, 2009
 
firewoodman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: X marks the spot !!!
Posts: 1,057
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

It may have been downrated to 3500kg. best to contact dvla before purchase though
firewoodman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
J The Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Somewhere I shouldn`t be
Posts: 337
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

As the vehicle is over 3500kg it must be tested at one of the VOSA test stations- on the day of your test you can ask to have the vehicle tacho exempt, a simple self explanitory A4 form to tick a box and sign at the end ( go for the Forestry/agricultural Box).BUT being over 3500kg you will need an Operators Licence, albeit a restricted one (orange disk)
J The Tree is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #8 (permalink)
RPA
Senior Member, Raffle sponsor 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
 
RPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Near Penrith
Posts: 800
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deer man View Post
Hi, Just seen an Iveco daily 4910. The owners says its plated at 5200kg but "THE TRUCK HAS BEEN PLATED TACOGRAPH EXEMPT,SO THERE NO NEED FOR AN OPERATORS LICENSE ,CAN DRIVE ON A CAR LICENSE". His words not mine.

I don't think this can be right? he says he has filled out a form when he had it MOT'd.

Does anyone know the legalities?
Just going through the operator licence stuff with my Iveco.

If it is 5.3T and not down rated as far as I know and have been told by VOSA it will need:

Operators licence (can be retricted for arb if you do not carry other peoples goods for profit. You still need to jump through the same hoops and at the same cost as a full operators licence)

A calibrated tacho (you can claim exemprion under similar conditions to above provided you do not travel further than 50km from your base, but will not pass MOT without one)

It aint worth getting it wrong, ask for advice from VOSA, they are actually human!
__________________
Eden Arb & Forest
Training, Sales & Service
RPA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #9 (permalink)
RPA
Senior Member, Raffle sponsor 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
 
RPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Near Penrith
Posts: 800
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J The Tree View Post
As the vehicle is over 3500kg it must be tested at one of the VOSA test stations- on the day of your test you can ask to have the vehicle tacho exempt, a simple self explanitory A4 form to tick a box and sign at the end ( go for the Forestry/agricultural Box).BUT being over 3500kg you will need an Operators Licence, albeit a restricted one (orange disk)
I was told the forest/agri exemption did not apply to my Iveco, just mogs etc.
__________________
Eden Arb & Forest
Training, Sales & Service
RPA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-09   #10 (permalink)
Senior member, Raffle Sponsor 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012
 
Paul Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Essex
Posts: 3,093
Re: How is it tacho/operators license exempt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick Stockbridge View Post
Is this truck in Kent ? The reason I ask is because the self same thing happened to me a couple of weeks ago. I walked away cos it was suss.
yeah thats the one!

contact DVLA i had a similar problem with my lift platform , the seller in my case was correct and even tho it has a tacho it does not require an opperators liscense , however it does require you to have catagory c1 to drive it or pree 1997 liscense
hope this helps you

How does the above make it exempt?

I have looked at the Vosa guideline and I am sure it would need an operators license. I will check with DVLA.
Paul Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What license for a unimog? Timber Tom Large equipment 20 24-06-13 05:20 PM
Tacho Dean Lofthouse General chat 19 23-10-08 08:24 PM
HGV Operators Licence igottacabstar Large equipment 17 18-06-08 11:17 PM
Waste Carriers License Dean Lofthouse General chat 24 29-02-08 03:56 PM
anyone got a tacho near leeds or lincs ecolojim Chainsaws 5 02-12-07 04:01 PM


Find tree care advice

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0